Yamhill County Minimum Recording Standards and “First Page” Requirements

As the official keeper of all public records for Yamhill County, our office maintains a series of minimum standards for recording documents along with specific requirements for the first page. 
The following information may be helpful when reviewing and recording documents in the Yamhill County Clerk's Office.  This information should not be construed as providing legal advice or as substituting consultation with an attorney.  This information is subject to change without notice.
We strive to return recorded documents within one business day of recording.   Copies of documents are available for a fee over the counter or by mail.  You may search and/or view documents in our office free of charge.  Bulk users should consider buying access to our online records tool.
The County Clerk's Office records documents that affect title or interest to real property located in Yamhill County.  When a document is received for recording it is reviewed for compliance with Oregon statutes.  As a document is recorded, an index is created and the image scanned and microfilmed for document retrieval.
 This Yamhill County Clerk’s Office is prohibited from:

  • Giving legal advice.
  • Helping fill out documents.
  • Suggesting what types of documents to use.
  • Recording documents other than those specified by Oregon and Federal law.

First Page Requirements:
The first page of each document submitted for recording must contain at least the following information (in accordance with ORS 205.234): 

  • Document Title(s)

The type of transaction, clearly labeled.  A document may contain multiple titles.  Each title must be clearly distinguishable to enable the recording clerk to index the document in the appropriate record (ORS 205.234)(1)(a).

  • Names of the Parties    

The names of all parties (Direct and Indirect) referenced in the document (ORS 205.125), (ORS 205.160) & (ORS 205.234)(1)(b).
Names on all Trust Deed/Mortgage assignments.

  • Return To

The name and address of the person to whom the document will be returned (ORS 205.180)(4).  This applies to e-recorded documents as well.

  • Consideration - Deeds

The true and actual consideration paid.  Required on documents conveying or contracting to convey fee title (ORS 93.030).  Consideration means the amount of cash or the amount of any lien, mortgage, contract, indebtedness or other encumbrance to property.

  • Tax Statements  

The name and address where tax statements will be sent.  Required on documents conveying or contracting to convey fee title (ORS 93.260).

  • Recording Certificate/Label

Minimum space for recording label of 4” x 2” in the upper right corner.

  • Clerk Lien

Judgment or warrant amount for Clerk Lien Record document.
The FIRST page must contain the above information (ORS 205.234).  If any of this information is not on the first page, an additional fee of $20 will be charged (ORS 205.327). A cover page (when properly prepared that reflects your transaction) may be used when presenting the document for recording (ORS 205.234)(2) for an additional $5.00 fee in order to avoid the “non-standard” fee.

Yamhill County Clerk Cover Page (fillable PDF)

Document Specifications – Minimum Recording Standards: 

  • Font size

All text (typed, written, or printed) must be 8 point or larger (ORS 205.232) and be printed in black ink.  This requirement applies to all pages of the document.

  • Paper weight

The weight of the paper must be not less than 20 pound bond, must be opaque enough to avoid bleed through and be of sufficient quality for scanning.

  • Paper size

Use either letter (8-1/2 x 11”) or legal-sized (8-1/2 x 14”) paper.

  • Originals

All signatures and notary acknowledgements must be original (OAR 160-100-000).
The document provided for recording must be a legible original that meets all content requirements.
Legibility & Corrections:
Any document that contains text not sufficiently legible to reproduce a readable photographic record will be returned without being recorded.  Example: faxed or copied documents, even with original signatures, often do not meet this requirement.

  • Re-recording

Any document that has been previously recorded may be re-recorded to make corrections to the original document or a coversheet used to clarify.

  • First Page Re-recording

The first page of the corrected document must meet all of the first page requirements for recordings.

  • Certified copy

A certified copy of a recorded instrument may not be altered for the purpose of correcting the original instrument.  The person presenting the instrument may present an unaltered certified copy of the recorded instrument when it is attached to a cover sheet authorized by ORS 205.234(2). 

  • Re-recording to make corrections *

The person presenting an original document for re-recording has two options:     
1.    A signed re-recording statement may be added to the first page if there is available space, or
2.    A signed re-recording coversheet may be attached to the document, adding $5 to the recording fee.
*Upon correction, your document must include the following re-recording statement on the first page: “This document is being re-recorded to (Correct, add or Delete) ____________ previously recorded instrument number ____________.

  • Attachments for legibility

If a form contains illegible text, a legible form of the same kind may be attached to the original, and it should state "attached for legibility" somewhere on the attached page. Attaching extra pages will increase the total cost for recording.

  • Notary seals over text

Notary seals must not cover text or signatures on the document.

  • Highlighting

Any highlighting of text or any other information on a document may cause the document to be rejected.

© 2000 - 2020 Yamhill County. All rights reserved. Links to external sites do not constitute endorsements by Yamhill County.
By visiting this and other Yamhill County web pages, you expressly agree to be bound by the terms and conditions of the site.