Concealed Handgun License

YCSO Offering Online Concealed Handgun License (CHL) Application Process

(Updated July 13, 2020)

Yamhill County Sheriff Tim Svenson is pleased to announce that our new Concealed Handgun License (CHL) online application is live! Effective July 13, 2020, applications for all CHLs will be submitted through a secure third-party software called Permit Direct by Permitium. This means that you can fill out the application from your computer or smartphone 24 hours a day.

Applicants will be asked to create an account and initiate the background check process. All fees can be paid through the site using a debit or credit card and users will receive notifications via email, text message, or automated phone calls. For new and transfer applications, the online process also allows you to schedule your CHL fingerprinting appointment.

“We are excited to offer this convenient service to our citizens.“ Sheriff Tim Svenson stated. “Especially during this time, we have looked at how we can increase convenience to our citizens while maintaining a high degree of service and safety. Being one of the first counties in Oregon to offer this service through Permitium, we feel confident that this will not only make the process easier for citizens, but improve the efficiency for our staff.”

As with all new systems, there may be some small issues in the beginning. We’ve posted a helpful FAQ on our website (https://www.co.yamhill.or.us/content/CHL-FAQS), which includes contact information should you encounter problems. Let us know what you think!

Ready to get started? Go to https://yamhillor.permitium.com/ccw/start to apply.



Under Oregon law (ORS 166), if you wish to carry a handgun* concealed upon your person, or concealed and readily accessible within a vehicle, you must have a concealed handgun license (CHL). CHLs are issued by County (under the authority of the Sheriff) and are good throughout the state of Oregon. Oregon does NOT recognize any other state’s concealed handgun license/permit at this time. Oregon CHLs are valid for 4 years from date of issuance, unless otherwise revoked or denied.
Important note: DO NOT CARRY A GUN CONCEALED UNTIL YOU RECEIVE YOUR CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE IN THE MAIL. ORS 166.292(2) states: "Failure of a person who carries a concealed handgun also to carry a concealed handgun license is prima facie evidence that the person does not have such a license." In addition, please be aware that your issued Oregon CHL does not supersede federal firearms prohobitions (refer to 18 U.S. Code § 922 (g).)
 

*For the definition of handgun, see ORS 166.210.



This page contains information on:

For more information, including a list of FAQs and local instructors, please see the Additional Information section.


Requirements for Obtaining a Concealed Handgun License in Oregon

You must apply for a CHL within the county in which you reside. However if you own property in two different counties, it is your choice which county you apply to; but you can only have one CHL issued by one county (an OR CHL is good throughout the entire state).

  1. You must be a U.S. Citizen, or a legal alien who can document continuous residency in the United States for at least six months and have declared, in writing, to the INS your intent to acquire citizenship (e.g. Form N300).
  2. You must be 21 years of age.
  3. Have no legal condition that would prohibit you from possessing a firearm under either Oregon or Federal law.
  4. Have no outstanding warrant(s) for your arrest.
  5. If you served in the Armed Forces and were not dishonorably discharged.
  6. Not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, a controlled substance.
  7. Not be on any form of pre-trial release.
  8. Not be required to register as a sex offender in any state.
  9. No convictions of a misdemeanor, or found guilty of a misdemeanor within four years prior to application, except under ORS 161.295.
  10. Not been ever convicted of a felony or found guilty, except for insanity under ORS 161.295, of a felony.
  11. Not be subject to a citation issued under ORS 163.735 or an order issued under ORS 30.866, 107.700 to 107.723, or 163.738 (e.g. Stalking or Restraining Order).
  12. Demonstrate competency with a handgun by any of the following:
    1. Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the State Department of Fish and Wildlife or a similar agency of another state if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    2. Completion of any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    3. Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by law enforcement, community college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or a law enforcement agency if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    4. Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, reserve law enforcement officers or any other law enforcement officers if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    5. Presents evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military service;
    6. Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state, unless the license has been revoked; or
    7. Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a firearms instructor certified by a law enforcement agency or the National Rifle Association if handgun safety was a component of the course.

(For complete details and other statutory conditions for issuance of a CHL, see ORS 166.291 Issuance of concealed handgun license; application; fees; liability)


Concealed Handgun License Fee Schedule in Yamhill County

APPLICATIONS AND OTHER PERMITS
Pursuant to Board Order 20-86, approved March 5, 2020

General Fingerprinting:  
For up to 2 cards (Code 362.99) $25.00
Each additional card (Code 362.99) $5.00 per card
   
New Concealed Handgun License (includes as outlined): $65.00
For CHL Review and Processing (Code 322.91) $50.00
For Fingerprinting (Code 322.92)  $15.00
   
Renewal (including Transfer) Concealed Handgun License (includes as outlined): $50.00
For CHL Review and Processing (Code 322.91) $50.00
   
Transfer Renewable Concealed Handgun License (includes as outlined):  $65.00
For CHL Review and Processing (Code 322.91) $50.00
For Fingerprinting (Code 322.92)  $15.00
   
Transfer VALID Concealed Handgun License (includes as outlined): $30.00
For CHL Review and Processing (Code 322.91) $15.00
For Fingerprinting (Code 322.92)  $15.00
   
Address Change / Replacement for Lost CHL Card (includes as outlined): $15.00
For CHL duplication of license because of loss or change of address (Code 322.91) $15.00


How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License in Yamhill County

Please be aware that, as part of the verification and background check required by law, you will be fingerprinted and photographed by Sheriff's Office staff. 

NEW CHL APPLICATIONS

  • If you've never had a Yamhill County CHL, you will need to select the NEW Concealed Handgun License Application OR TRANSFERRING from Another County application link from https://yamhillor.permitium.com/ccw/start.
  • Two forms of identification are required. One must be an government-issued photo ID of the applicant (e.g., Oregon Driver's License); examples of acceptable second IDs include, but are not limited to, a US Passport, Costco Card, Medical Insurance Card, Military ID, Bi-Mart card, or an Employee ID Card.
  • If your government-issued photo ID does not include a Yamhill County address, you must show proof of residency. Acceptable documents include:
    • Show proof of voter registration in Yamhill County and have a precinct memorandum card showing a residence address in Yamhill County.
    • Provide documentation that you currently own or lease real property in Yamhill County.
    • Provide documentation that you filed an Oregon tax return for the most recent tax year with a residence address in Yamhill County.
  • Your fingerprinting appointment is scheduled through the online application. There will be no walk-ins permitted.
  • NON-REFUNDABLE cost for a NEW CHL is $65.00. All major credit cards are accepted through the online CHL application program.

If you do not have ability to complete the process electronically, please call our office and we will mail an application to you, along with instructions about proceeding.

RENEWING CHL APPLICATIONS

  • If you have a current CHL from Yamhill County and you have had no changes (name and address are the exact same), even if your current CHL is expired, you will need to select the RENEW Concealed Handgun License application link from https://yamhillor.permitium.com/ccw/start.
  • The following forms of identification are required:
    • One government issued photo identification (e.g., DMV issued driver license or ID card, US Passport, etc.).
    • Your current/expired CHL.
    • Renewal applicants who have not previously provided proof of US citizenship must do so at the time of renewal. If you are unsure, please email us at sheriffrecords@co.yamhill.or.us to inquire. Applications will not be accepted without US citizenship documentation on file (ORS 166.291(1)(a)(B)). Qualifying documents include US birth certificate, US passport, or naturalization paperwork.
  • NON-REFUNDABLE cost for a RENEWAL CHL is $50.00All major credit cards are accepted through the online CHL application program.

Per ORS 166.295, an otherwise expired concealed handgun license continues to be valid for up to 45 days after the licensee applies for renewal if:

  •       The licensee applies for renewal before the original license expires;
  •       The licensee has proof of the application for renewal; and
  •       The application for renewal has not been denied.

If you do not have ability to complete the process electronically, please call our office and we will mail an application to you, along with instructions about proceeding.

TRANSFER CHL APPLICATIONS

  • If you've never had a Yamhill County CHL or you have been issued a CHL in Oregon in a county other than Yamhill, you will need to select the NEW Concealed Handgun License Application OR TRANSFERRING from Another County application link from https://yamhillor.permitium.com/ccw/start.
  • Two forms of identification are required. One must be an government-issued photo ID of the applicant (e.g., Oregon Driver's License); examples of acceptable second IDs include, but are not limited to, a US Passport, Costco Card, Medical Insurance Card, Military ID, Bi-Mart card, or an Employee ID Card.
  • If your government-issued photo ID does not include a Yamhill County address, you must show proof of residency. Acceptable documents include:
    • Show proof of voter registration in Yamhill County and have a precinct memorandum card showing a residence address in Yamhill County.
    • Provide documentation that you currently own or lease real property in Yamhill County.
    • Provide documentation that you filed an Oregon tax return for the most recent tax year with a residence address in Yamhill County.
  • Your fingerprinting appointment is scheduled through the online application. There will be no walk-ins permitted.
  • NON-REFUNDABLE cost for a NEW CHL is $65.00. All major credit cards are accepted through the online CHL application program.

If you do not have ability to complete the process electronically, please call our office and we will mail an application to you, along with instructions about proceeding.

DUPLICATE/CHANGE OF NAME/CHANGE OF ADDRESS CHL APPLICATIONS

  • If you have a current CHL from Yamhill County but you've either mislaid your CHL card, legally changed your name, or have moved but are still within Yamhill County, you will need to select the REQUEST A DUPLICATECHANGE OF NAME, or CHANGE OF ADDRESS within Yamhill County on an existing Concealed Handgun License application link from https://yamhillor.permitium.com/ccw/start.
  • Depending on the type of application, the following forms of identification are required:
    • One government issued photo identification (e.g., DMV issued driver license or ID card, US Passport, etc.).
    • Pursuant to ORS 166.295(C)(2), your address must be updated with the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles BEFORE submitting your application
    • Court certified true copy of your legal name change if applicable.
    • Current CHL if applicable.
  • NON-REFUNDABLE cost for a DUPLICATE or CHANGE NAME/ADDRESS CHL is $15.00. All major credit cards are accepted through the online CHL application program.

If you do not have ability to complete the process electronically, please call our office and we will mail an application to you, along with instructions about proceeding.


Additional Information Regarding Concealed Handgun Licenses

© 2000 - 2020 Yamhill County. All rights reserved. Links to external sites do not constitute endorsements by Yamhill County.
By visiting this and other Yamhill County web pages, you expressly agree to be bound by the terms and conditions of the site.