Marriage Licenses

  NEW! Start your Marriage License Online

Now you can start your Marriage License application from home or on the go.  Log onto our new web-based application to begin.

Online Marriage App

Complete the online application then come into our office to confirm, sign, pay and you’re on your way…
 

Marriage Licenses

You may obtain a marriage license from the Yamhill County Clerk at:

Yamhill County Clerk’s Office
414 NE Evans Street
McMinnville, Oregon 97128

Both parties must appear in person to complete the application. Hours for obtaining a marriage license are 9:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M., Monday through Friday. The fee for the license is $50.00 in cash. No checks, debit or credit cards are accepted for a marriage license. Please allow approximately 20 minutes to obtain a license.

License Conditions

There is a three-day *waiting period from the day you pay the fee and we hand you the issued license until it is valid. Once the license is valid, it is usable for a 60-day period. You may obtain a license in any county in Oregon, and it can be used in any county in the State of Oregon.

The license is officially issued after you visit our office and pay the fee.  The three-day waiting period begins at that point.

No extensions of time or refunds of money are made once the license is issued.

            *Waiting Period Waiver

If you need to have the 3-day waiting period waived, you must request this waiver before the license is issued.  The cost for waiving the waiting period is $20.00 (not all Oregon Counties treat this the same way).

Age Requirement

Legal age for marriage in the State of Oregon for both parties is 18 years-of -age. A seventeen-year-old can be married if the parent or guardian gives consent. The parent or guardian must complete a consent form at the time the parties make application for their marriage license.

ID Requirements

Photo ID is required for both parties at the time they apply for their marriage license.

Medical Examinations

Medical examinations and blood tests are no longer required by the State in order to obtain a marriage license.

Issuance After A Divorce or Dissolution of Domestic Partnership

The final divorce or dissolution of Domestic Partnership date is required on the marriage license application. A marriage license cannot become valid until the day after the divorce or dissolution is final, and a three-day waiting period is still required from the date of application until the license can be used.

Licenses Not Issued

Oregon State law does not allow the marriage of first cousins or nearer kin.

Who May Perform A Marriage?

  1. Judges, Justices of Peace, County Clerks or **Chief Deputy (**Not all counties allow Chief Deputies to perform marriages).
  2. Persons appointed to perform the ceremony by a religious organization (i.e., ministers, pastors, priests, rabbis etc.).
  3. Celebrant or officiant of a secular organization who is authorized by that organization to solemnize marriages.
  4. An appointment for a civil marriage ceremony performed by a judge or the County Clerk should be made with the respective office staff.  An in-office ceremony performed  by the County Clerk or a Deputy County Clerk during office hours is $110.00 cash.

Click here for Instructions to Officiants Performing Marriage Ceremonies.

NOTE:  Yamhill County interprets ORS 106.150 “in the presence of” to mean that both parties, the officiant, and 2 witnesses must be physically in the same room/space throughout the entire ceremony.

Licenses By Mail

Yamhill County does not process marriage applications by mail.

Duplicate License

If an issued license is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced by the County Clerk. The fee for a duplicate license packet is $10.00. The decorative certificate can be replaced for a fee of $4.75.

Certified Copy

Once the marriage has taken place, and the completed marriage license is returned to the County Clerk, an official "certified" copy of the license can be obtained from the County Clerk for $7.50 (each additional copy, purchased at the same time as the first, is an additional $3.75). The certified document is considered the "legal" copy, and can be used to change names on such items as your driver's license, social security card, passport etc.

 

To save yourself some time, you can complete our Request for Certified Copy form and send it to us with payment and we’ll send them to you at the address you list.

If you need them quickly, please feel free to call ahead - we can often have them prepared and ready for you to pick up here in our office when you arrive.

Online Marriage Application

If you would like to save time, complete the form at your own pace and wherever you wish, you may do it on any web-enabled device.  Just go to our new Online Marriage App., and enter most of the information before coming to the office.  You both still need to come into our office in person to sign, show valid identification, provide your social security information and pay the fee.  The online application helps you get most of the paperwork done before you get to our office – saving you a considerable amount of time.

© 2000 - 2018 Yamhill County. All rights reserved. Links to external sites do not constitute endorsements by Yamhill County.
By visiting this and other Yamhill County web pages, you expressly agree to be bound by the terms and conditions of the site.