A marriage license can be obtained from the Yamhill County Clerk at: the County Clerk’s Office, 414 NE Evans St, in McMinnville, Oregon. Bride and groom must appear in person to make application. Hours for obtaining a marriage license are 9:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M., Monday through Friday. The fee for the license is $50.00 in cash. No checks or credit cards are accepted for a marriage license. Please allow approximately 20 minutes to obtain a license.
There is a three-day waiting period from the day the license is issued until it can be used. Once the license is usable, it is valid for a 60-day period. The license may be obtained in any county in Oregon, and it can be used in any county in the State of Oregon. No extensions of time or refunds of money are made once the license is issued.
Legal age for marriage in the State of Oregon for both bride and groom is 18 years-of -age. A seventeen-year-old can be married if the parent or guardian gives consent. The parent or guardian must complete a consent form at the time the bride and groom make application for their marriage license.
Photo ID is required for both bride and groom at the time they make application for their marriage license.
Medical examinations and blood tests are no longer required by the State in order to obtain the marriage license.
Issuance After A Divorce
The final divorce date is required on the marriage license application. A marriage license cannot become valid until the day after the divorce is final, and a three-day waiting period is still required from the date of application until the license can be used.
Licenses Not Issued
Oregon State law does not allow a marriage license to be issued to parties of the same gender. Oregon State law does not allow the marriage of first cousins or nearer kin.
Who May Perform A Marriage?
Judges, Justices of Peace, County Clerks or Chief Deputy (Check each county on which deputies can perform marriages)
Persons appointed to perform the ceremony by a religious organization (i.e., ministers, pastors, priests, rabbis etc.).
An appointment for a civil marriage ceremony performed by a judge or the county clerk should be made with the respective office staff. An in-office ceremony performed by the county clerk or a deputy county clerk during office hours is $100.00.
Click here for Instructions to Ministers Performing Marriage Ceremonies.
Licenses By Mail
Yamhill County does not process marriage applications by mail.
If an issued license is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced by the county clerk. The fee for a duplicate license packet is $10.00. The decorative certificate can be replaced for a fee of $1.00.
Once the marriage has taken place, and the completed marriage license is returned to the County Clerk, an official "certified" copy of the license can be obtained from the County Clerk for $7.50. The certified document is considered the "legal" copy, and can be used by the bride to change her name on such items as the driver's license, social security card etc.
© 2000 - 2002 Yamhill County. All rights reserved. Links to external sites do not constitute endorsements by Yamhill County. By visiting this and other Yamhill County web pages, you expressly agree to be bound by the terms and conditions of the site.